Simple diy Wreath

Today I’m sharing a simple way to spruce up your space – a wreath. I’ve recently discovered my love of wreaths – they just add a little extra cheer to your entryway. There are many different kinds of wreaths you can make and they range from easy to more difficult and time consuming. For this wreath, I went with something simple, but I think it makes a big difference.

To make a wreath like mine you will need:

  • Medium sized grapevine wreath (you can get these for under $10 at Michael’s or any craft store)
  • Floral wire (~$2 at craft stores)
  • Wire cutters (~$5 at craft stores)
  • Fake flowers (~$5  I got a large bunch with several flowers on clearance. I even have extra flowers leftover for other projects.)
  • Floral accents ($1 each I used a couple of green sprig accents that were on clearance in my wreath)

To get started you need to cut the stems off of your flowers with the wire cutters, leaving an inch or two to tuck into the wreath. Also consider keeping some leaves on the stem.

Then decide how you want to arrange the flowers before you place them on the wreath. Once you’ve figured that out, start by tucking in the stems to the wreath and securing them with floral wire. I secured my flowers to only a couple twigs so the wire would not show.

Next, I added in my green accents to the sides and secured those the same way as I did the flowers. I picked it up to hang it and make sure it didn’t move too much. Adjusted the flowers a bit and hung it on the wreath holder. This particular kind of wreath is not the best for a wreath holder. It will work, but I would suggest hanging from a ribbon or bow of sorts instead.

Done! Easy, inexpensive and pretty. This only took me about 20 minutes to make and I got all my supplies on sale or using coupons. My total came to under $20 on this project including the tools that I’ll use again.

Need more inspiration? Below are a few wreaths I love and for more ideas, check out my pinterest board.

Looove this Spring Moss Initial Wreath from Craftaholics Anonymous – click here for the tutorial

Welcome Wreath from Dotted Line Crafts

Initial Wreath from Clean & Scentsible

I linked up to:
Somewhat Simple Lil\'Luna

2 thoughts on “Simple diy Wreath

Leave a comment